You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Medication Aide
Description:
Training that allows nurse aides to administer medications in nursing homes, facilities for the developmentally disabled and hospices.  
License Type:
Original  
Duration:
No duration information available.  
Fees:
No fees required.  
Prerequisites:
Must be Nurse Aide and
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • have a high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma,
  • be current on the State of Wisconsin nurse aide directory,
  • be current on the federal nurse aide directory,
  • have at least 2000 hours experience in direct patient care within the last three years,
  • have worked a minimum of 40 hours, within the last 90 days, with the residents to whom the student will be administering medications,
  • be recommended in writing by the director of nursing and the administrator of the agency in which the student will be working during the clinical experience, and
  • be recommended in writing by two licensed charge nurses under whose licenses the aide will be administering medications.
 
Additional Information:
Wisconsin Statutes:
No statute(s) apply.  
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Wisconsin Administrative Codes:
HFS 131, Hospices
HFS 132, Nursing Homes
HFS 134, Facilities Serving People with Developmental Disabilities  
Contact Information
Contact:
Bureau of Technology, Licensing & Education
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)266-5388  
Fax:
 
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 2969, Madison, WI 53701-2969  
Street Address:
1 West Wilson Street, Room 950, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler