You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Excise Tax, Tobacco, Products Distributor

Permit required to:

  1. Sell tobacco products in Wisconsin, or bring or cause to be brought into this state from outside Wisconsin, any tobacco products for sales.
  2. Make, manufacture, or fabricate tobacco products in Wisconsin for sale in Wisconsin.
  3. Sell tobacco products outside Wisconsin, ship or transport tobacco products to retailers in Wisconsin for sale by the retailers.
License Type:

The BTR certificate is renewable every two years. 


There is no fee for the Tobacco Products Permit.  However, persons wanting Tobacco permits must hold a Business Tax Registration (BTR) Certificate. There is a one-time $20 charge for the BTR Certificate. This certificate is renewable every two years for $10.


New applicants are requested to post $3,000 security for tobacco products tax.

See application instructions

Required Documentation:
Additional Information:
See a list of Frequently Asked Questions  
Application Form(s):
Wisconsin Statutes:
Permits, Distributor (S. 139.79)  
Administrative Rules/Codes:
No administrative rule(s) or code(s) apply.  
Contact Information
Customer Service Bureau
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Mail Address:
PO Box 8902, Madison, WI 53708-8902  
Street Address:
2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.