You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Marriage Certificate
An official record of a marriage. 

If you are planning on getting married and need a marriage license, please contact the county in which you live. If you live out-of-state, contact the county where the ceremony will take place.

If you are or have been married and you need a copy of your marriage certificate, use the information below to get a copy of your marriage certificate.  
License Type:
Certified or Uncertified  
Certificate does not expire.  
The cost for the search, which includes one copy of the marriage certificate, if found, is $20.00.  Additional copies of the same record, purchased at the same time as the first copy are $3.00 each.  The cost is the same whether you request a certified or uncertified copy of the marriage certificate.  The fees are not refundable if no record is found.

Read more on expedited services.  
Required Documentation:
Identification is required to apply for and receive copies of vital records (at 1 West Wilson Street, Room 158, Madison).

The acceptable forms of identification are:

One of these:
  • Wisconsin driver's license,
  • Wisconsin photo I.D. card or
  • Government-issued employee I.D. card or badge with photograph
    Two of these:
  • Out-of-state driver's license or photo I.D. card,
  • Check or bank book,
  • Lease signed by you,
  • Bill addressed to you, and/or
  • Traffic ticket.

    All forms of identification must show your current name and address.  Expired cards or documents will not be accepted.
    Additional Information:
    For more information about certificates, how to obtain copies quickly and how you can conduct self-searches of our records, visit the Vital Records website.  
    Visit our website for instructions on how to request a copy of a certificate in person, by mail or by fax or call our information line at (608)266-1371.  
    Application Form(s):
    In person and mail requests use: Marriage Certificate Application

    If faxing a request (which is an expedited service) use:  Fax Marriage Certificate Application  
    Wisconsin Statutes:
    Collection of Statistics, Chapter 69  
    Administrative Rules/Codes:
    Other Agencies Involved:
    To locate the county agency where one would apply for a marriage license, click here. For a list of fees each county charges for a license, click here.  
    Contact Information
    Vital Records
    Home Page:
    E-mail :
    Hours of Operation:
    8:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday  
    Mail Address:
    PO Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-0309  
    Street Address:
    1 West Wilson Street, Room 158, Madison, WI 53702  
    Agency Web Site:
    Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
    to be able to read PDF files.
    For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.