You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Collection Agency License
Description:
A collection agency means a person engaging in the business of collecting or receiving for payment for others of any account, bill, or other indebtedness. Certain persons are exempt from s.218.04. Wis Stats. The exemptions and complete definition are set forth in s.218.04(1)(a), Wis Stats. The nonresident collection agency exemption is set forth in s.218.04(2)(b), Wis Stats.  
License Type:
Original  
Duration:
License must be renewed each year.  
Fees:
Initial application-$1,200 ($1,000 investigation fee and $200 annual fee);solicitor/collector fee-$15 per person; annual license fee-$200; exam fee-$54/hour  
Prerequisites:
The applicant and principals must meet financial responsibility, character, and general fitness requirements.  
Additional Information:
 
Application Form(s):
Forms are available on the Collection Agency Home Page  
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Contact Information
Contact:
Licensed Financial Services Section
Home Page:
E-mail :
N/A  
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Phone:
 
Fax:
 
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 7876, Madison, WI 53707-7876  
Street Address:
201 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler