You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Renderer License (or Grease Processor)
A person who renders dead animal carcasses into grease or other products must be licensed under s. 95.72 Wis. Stats.  
License Type:
No duration information available.  
$200 annual fee. One-time inspection fee of $25.  

Applicant must comply with applicable provisions of s. 95.72 Wis. Stats. and Ch. ATCP 55, Wis. Admin. Code. Facilities and equipment inspected prior to licensing.

"In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326-W, Whitten Building, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410, or call (202) 720-5964 (voice and TDD). This institution is an equal opportunity provider."

Wisconsin Statutes:
Animal Health Transportation, processing and disposal of dead animals (S.95.72)  
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Contact Information
Bureau of Meat Safety and Inspection
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  
Mail Address:
PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911  
Street Address:
2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison, WI 53718-6777  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.