You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Excise Tax, Tobacco, Product Distributor, Out-of-State
Any person, sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, corporation or association who wants to handle tobacco products at the wholesale level in Wisconsin as a distributor or subjobber must obtain a permit from the Department of Revenue. Retailers who purchase tobacco products from sources outside Wisconsin that do not hold a distributor permit must obtain a distributor permit and pay the tax to the Department. Persons wanting a tobacco products permit must hold a Business Tax Registration (BTR) Certificate.  
License Type:
The BTR certificate and tobacco products permits are valid until canceled by the permittee or revoked by the Department.  
There is no fee for the Out-of-State Distributor Permit. However, the BTR certificate and tobacco products permits are issued by the Registration Unit in Madison, (608) 266-2776. There is a one-time $20 charge for the BTR certificate. This certificate is renewable every two years for $10.  
The Department may require persons who are responsible for paying the tobacco products tax to have security (e.g., cash, bond) on file. The amount of security cannot exceed three times a permittee's average monthly liability for tobacco products tax.  
Additional Information:
For additional information see Wisconsin Department of Revenue's Frequently Asked Questions.  
Application Form(s):
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
No administrative rule(s) or code(s) apply.  
Contact Information
Customer Service Bureau
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Mail Address:
PO Box 8902, Madison, WI 53708-8902  
Street Address:
2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.