You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Excise Tax, Cigarette, Distributor
Description:

Permit required for persons who acquire unstamped cigarettes from the Manufacturer, affixes stamps to those cigarette packs or containers, stores the stamped cigarettes and sells them to other permittees or to retailers for resale, or acquires Wisconsin stamped cigarettes from another permittee for such sales.

 
License Type:
Original  
Duration:
The BTR certificate and cigarette permits are valid until canceled by the permittee or revoked by the Department. Certificate is renweable every two years.  
Fees:
There is no fee for the Cigarette Distributor permit. However, persons wanting cigarette permits must hold a Business Tax Registration (BTR) Certificate. There is a one-time $20 charge for the BTR Certificate. This certificate is renewable every two years for $10.  
Prerequisites:

See application form instructions

New applicants are requested to post a security minimum of $10,000 plus an amount equal to 3 times their estimated monthly tax stamp purchases.  
Required Documentation:
Additional Information:
For additional information see Wisconsin Department of Revenue's Frequently Asked Questions  
Instructions:
Application Form(s):
Wisconsin Statutes:
Cigarette Permits (S. 139.34)  
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Cigarette Tax (Revenue Tax 9)  
Contact Information
Contact:
Customer Service Bureau
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)266-2776  
Fax:
(608)264-6884  
TTY/TDD:
(608)267-1049  
Mail Address:
PO Box 8902, Madison, WI 53708-8902  
Street Address:
2135 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713  
Agency Web Site:
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler