You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Property Tax, Assessor 2

There are five levels of certification in the Wisconsin Assessor Certification program, three are assessor levels and two are for assessment personnel other than the assessor. The levels of certification in order of increasing responsibilities are: Assessment Technician, Property Appraiser, Assessor 1, Assessor 2, and Assessor 3. The duties that an individual is authorized to perform are progressively more complex as the level of certification becomes higher. An individual certified at the higher level is allowed to perform the duties of any subordinate level of certification, except for the Assessor 3 level. An Assessor 3 can only perform duties associated with the Assessor 3 certification.

License Type:
Certifications expire five years after the date of issuance.   
$20 examination fee  
Additional Information:
Initial certification is dependent on examination results. Renewal of certification is dependent on re-examination, or compliance with continuing education requirements.  
Application Form(s):
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
No administrative rule(s) or code(s) apply.  
Contact Information
Division of State and Local Finance
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
Mail Address:
PO Box 8971, MS 6-97, WI 53708-8971  
Street Address:
2135 Rimrock Road, MS 6-97, Madison, WI 53713-1443  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.