You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Animal Dealer License
Description:
License required for persons who, as principal or agent, deal in the business of buying livestock for resale or for slaughter, sale, or exchange, or who rent bulls or lease livestock. Does not include employees of animal dealers, or operators of farms who sell livestock if the operator keeps livestock solely for dairy, breeding, or feeding purposes and who are not otherwise engaged in buying for resale, slaughter, sale, or exchange.  
License Type:
Original  
Duration:
1 year, beginning July 1 ending June 30 of the next calendar year.  
Fees:
$220 + $20 per vehicle (vehicle is a trailer or truck that physically carries animals).  
Required Documentation:

Individual entities will be required to provide their Social Security Number. All other entities (LLC, Corp., Inc.) must be registered with DFI (State of Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions).

 
Additional Information:

$44 License renewal late fee and $5 Vehicle late fee if applicant operated as an animal dealer without a license, or if applicant operated an animal transport vehicle without a license or vehicle registraton after July 1 of the application year; $100 license surcharge and $100 vehicle surcharge if applicant operated without a license or vehicle registration 365 days prior to July 1 of the application year.

Contact the Division of Animal Health for more information.

 
Application Form(s):

Printable application available at:  http://datcp.wi.gov/uploads/licenses/pdf/AnimalDealerOnlineApplication.pdf

Call 608-224-4889 for an Animal Dealer application packet to be mailed.

 
To Apply Directly Online:
No online registration available.   
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Animal Movement  (ATCP 11)  
 
Contact Information
Contact:
Division of Animal Health
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)224-4889  
Fax:
(608)224-4871  
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911  
Street Address:
2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison, WI 53718-6777  
Agency Web Site:
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler