You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Pesticide, Commercial Applicator Certification
Certification is based on the results of a written exam and is required for persons who apply pesticides in a commercial for-hire and commerical not for-hire capacity.  
License Type:
Certification is good for five years.  
Purchase training materials from the University of Wisconsin Extension's Pesticide Applicator Training Program (PAT), for $45.00 per certification category and $5.00 for each sub-category. There is no additional fee to take the written exam.  
Must be 16 years old with photo identification and social security number.  
Required Documentation:
A written exam must be passed for each pesticide certification category and subcategory.  
Additional Information:
The University of Wisconsin Extension's Pesticide Applicator Training program (PAT) provides the training and training materials for pesticide applicator certification. Visit their web site for more details on pesticide applicator certification categories, ordering training materials, training sessions, and certification testing sites or call 608-262-7588, Extension 1.  
Application Form(s):
Contact the University of Wisconsin's Pesticide Applicator Training program to purchase training materials and other related information at 608-262-7588 - Extension 1, or online at  An annual pesticide applicator license is also required for commerical for-hire pesticide applicators and some commercial not-for-hire pesticide applicators.  
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Contact Information
Bureau of Agrichemical Management
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  
Mail Address:
PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911  
Street Address:
2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison, WI 53718-6777  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.