You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Boat Registration
Duplicate titles, certificates, and decals for a boat currently registered in Wisconsin, available to the same owner, if the original title, registration certificate and/or decals have been lost, stolen, destroyed, painted over, scraped off, etc.  
License Type:
This is a replacement of what the registration currently reads. Expiration will not change.  
$2.50 for duplicate decals or certificate
$5.00 for duplicate title
$5.00 to add lien holder to current title
Required Documentation:
Completed boat registration application requesting replacements and reason for replacement.  
Additional Information:
Keep applicant copy of the application until you receive certificate/decals/title from Madison.  
When requesting a replacement title to add and/or remove the lienholder from your current title, you must submit the original title and WDNR will issue the new title at no fee. To remove a lienholder, you must a submit lien perfection notice or letter from the bank on their letterhead stating that the lien has been paid in full.  
Application Form(s):
To Apply Directly Online:

NEW Boat Registrations Online: For the Boat you currently own, to register recently purchased boats, request replacement certificate card, title and/or decals complete your boat application online and after payment is received you'll get a temporary operating receipt to use your boat immediately.  This service is available 24/7.

Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Contact Information
Customer Service and Licensing
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday  
Mail Address:
PO BOX 7921, CS/1, Madison, WI 53707  
Street Address:
101 South Webster, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.