You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Dwelling Contractor Qualifier
Description:
Applies to persons, other than the owner, obtaining building permits for a one- or two-family dwelling.  
 
License Type:
Renewal  
Duration:

2 years from date of renewal.

 
Fees:

$30 Credential.

 
Prerequisites:
Evidence that the person has completed at least 12 hours in an approved course in dwelling construction within one year prior to the date of application. The course shall include instruction in at least the following subject matter and one or more tests on at least the following subject matter:  a. Construction laws;  b. Construction codes;  c. Construction business practices.  
Required Documentation:

Signed application form and fees.

 
Instructions:

Mail your renewal post card or letter and credential fees to State of Wisconsin, Department of Commerce-Credentialing, P.O. Box 78780, Milwaukee, WI  53293-0780.

 

If you have met all of your continuing education requirements, you may be able to renew online by credit card, debit card, or ACH withdrawal.  http://apps.commerce.wi.gov/CredentialRenewal.

 
Application Form(s):

Call (608) 261-8467 if renewal is not received.  Renewal applications are sent about 6 weeks in advance of expiration date.

 
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Other Agencies Involved:
Check with the local municipality for further permits or licenses required.   
Contact Information
Contact:
Credentialing Unit
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)261-8467  
Fax:
(608)267-0592  
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 7082, Madison, WI 53707-7082  
Street Address:
201 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
 
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler