You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Boat Registration
Renews registration of a boat registered to the same owner with a Wisconsin registration number and expired decals.  
License Type:
3 years (April 1 March 31) This fee is not prorated.  
Motorized Boats & Canoes
Under 16' - $ 19.00
16' to less than 26' - $ 28.00
26' to less than 40' - $ 52.00
40' and over - $ 86.00

Non-Motorized Boats (voluntary registration)
Boats (voluntary registration- $11.00

Non-Motorized Sailboats
Over 12' to less than 16' - $17.00
16' and over - $17.00  
Required Documentation:
Renewal notification/coupon or registration application.  
Additional Information:

Keep the applicant copy of the application or interim receipt until you receive updated certificate and decals from Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.

Application Form(s):
Boat Registration & Titling Application (form 9400-193) or Boat Renewal Coupon (form 9400-194) or Renew Online.  
To Apply Directly Online:

Boat Registrations Online:Register online using a credit card for a Boat recently purchased, currently own or request replacement card/decals/title for one you own. See website for details. This site is available 24/7.

Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Contact Information
Customer Service and Licensing
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday  
Mail Address:
PO BOX 7921, CS/1, Madison, WI 53707  
Street Address:
101 South Webster, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.