You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Building Contractor Registration
Description:
No person or entity may engage in a construction business or offer to engage in a construction business that affects public buildings, places of employment, one- and 2- family dwellings, public swimming pools and water attractions, unless the person or entity holds a registration issued by the department as a registered building contractor.   
License Type:
Original  
Duration:

4 years

 
Fees:

$100, plus a $15 application fee if not sent electronically

 
Prerequisites:

The person applying for a building contractor registration shall be the owner of the construction business, a partner in the construction business applying on behalf of a partnership, or the chairman of the board or chief executive officer applying on behalf of the construction corporation.

 
Required Documentation:
N/A .  
Instructions:
A person applying for a building contractor registration shall submit a completed application, a $15 application fee if applying by mail (No fee if application is submitted electronically), and a $100 license fee.  
Application Form(s):
Apply online, print and mail a PDF file, or email a form request to madisoncred@commerce.state.wi.us.  
To Apply Directly Online:
Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
Building Contractor (Comm 5.30)  
 
Contact Information
Contact:
Credentialing Unit
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)261-8467  
Fax:
(608)267-0592  
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 7082, Madison, WI 53707-7082  
Street Address:
201 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
 
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler