You are on Wisconsin.gov License
State of Wisconsin *
Search
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting

Details

Detailed Information for : Bed and Breakfast Establishment
Description:
A permit to operate any place of lodging that provides eight or fewer rooms for rent to no more than a total of 20 tourists for more than ten nights in a 12-month period, is the owner's personal residence, is occupied by the owner at the time of rental, and in which the only meal served to guests is breakfast.  
License Type:
Original  
Duration:
One Year beginning 7/1.   If initial permit issued after April 1, permit expires the next calendar year on 6/30. For example, permit issued 4/30/2007 expires 6/30/2008.  
Fees:
One-time pre-inspection fee of $300. $110 annual renewal.  
Prerequisites:
See Wisconsin Administrative Code DHS 197 Bed and Breakfast Establishments.  
Application Form(s):
For an application packet contact (608) 266-2835 or e-mail us.  
Wisconsin Statutes:
Chapter 254, Subchapter VII, Lodging and Food Protection  
Administrative Rules/Codes:
DHS 197, Bed and Breakfast Establishments  
Other Agencies Involved:
Read the Department of Revenue's booklet Hotel, Motel, and Other Lodging Providers - How Do Wisconsin Sales and Use Taxes Affect Your Operations?  
Contact Information
Contact:
Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Health, Food Safety and Recreational Licensing
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday  
Phone:
(608)266-2835  
Fax:
 
TTY/TDD:
 
Mail Address:
PO Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701  
Street Address:
1 West Wilson Street, Room 150, Madison, WI 53702  
Agency Web Site:
 
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
 
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org or phone them at 608-263-7680.


Ruler