You are on License
State of Wisconsin *
Help  |  Site Map  |  Subject Directory  |  Agency Index  |  Feedback

* License Home
* Portal Home
* Government
* Public Services
* Business
* Education
* Wisconsin Facts
* Health & Safety
* Relocation
* Visiting


Detailed Information for : Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Qualifier
Applies to persons who install or service heating, ventilating, or air conditioning equipment.  
License Type:
4 years from date of issuance.  
$15 Application, $25 Exam, $60 Credential  

As a prerequisite to taking the Department of Commerce exam, the applicant shall provide proof of

  • (a) at least 1,000 hours per year for at least 4 years of experience in supervising or performing the design, installation, servicing, or maintenance of HVAC systems or equipment or
  • (b) at least 4 years of attendence in a school of engineering or an accredited college or university or technical, vocational, or apprenticeship school in HVAC-related program or
  • (c) any combination of 4 years of experience recognized in (a) and (b).
Required Documentation:

Signed application form with experience section filled out and signed plus the fees.  If you are using education for some of the work experience, an original transcript will need to be sent.

Additional Information:

Send signed application form and fees and transcript (if applicable) to State of Wisconsin, Department of Commerce-Credentialing, PO Box 78780, Milwwaukee, WI 53293-0780.  Other correspondence goes to Safety and Buildings Division, PO Box 7082, Madison, WI 53707-7082.

Application Form(s):

Call Safety and Buildings Division at (608) 261-8467 for application form, contact us at, or obtain application form from our website.

Wisconsin Statutes:
Administrative Rules/Codes:
HVAC qualifiers (Comm 5.71)  
Contact Information
Credentialing Unit
Home Page:
E-mail :
Hours of Operation:
7:45 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday  
Mail Address:
PO Box 7082, Madison, WI 53707-7082  
Street Address:
201 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703  
Agency Web Site:
Download Acrobat Download Acrobat Reader from Adobe
to be able to read PDF files.
For additional assistance with business-related license, permit and registration information, visit the Wisconsin Small Business Development Center at or phone them at 608-263-7680.